Top line-up of judges for Voyager Media Awards

Top line-up of judges for Voyager Media Awards

The list of high-calibre former and current print and TV journalists, editors and photographers who have judged the 2018 Voyager Media Awards can now be viewed on

The 66 judges from four countries include former editor Andrew Holden, award-winning journalist Donna Chisholm, former editor and award-winning journalist Cate Brett, former editor Antony Philips, now general manager of Pagemasters in Australia, former journalists and magazine editors Debra Millar and Lauren Quaintance, journalist and documentary maker Allan Baddock, former journalist and broadcaster Deborah Coddington, the head of journalism at the University of Technology in Sydney, Professor Peter Fray, London-based Kiwi photographer Rob Taggart, AP’s director of photo operations in Europe, the Middle East and Africa, and former award-winning print and TV journalist Te Anga Nathan.     
Other judges with television experience include Paul Cutler, Lorelei Mason, Mike Valintine, John Hudson, Kerryanne Evans, Susan Wood, Bill Ralston and Shane Taurima.
Awards director Jane Phare said the co-judges had put weeks of work into reading and viewing more than 2000 entries to decide on finalists and winners.
“We’re extremely grateful to our 66 judges. They put hours and hours of unpaid time into judging. We couldn’t run these awards without them.“
Winners will be announced at the Voyager Media Awards gala dinner on Friday, May 11 at Cordis, Auckland. Tickets are $170 (inc gst) and can be ordered online on      

Michelle Khan