Accolades for top journalists at Voyager Media Awards 

 May 17, 2019

Accolades for top journalists at Voyager Media Awards 

From an outstanding field of entries, The Spinoff's Madeleine Chapman and NZ Herald's Nicholas Jones were last night named joint winners of the Best (single) news story category at the Voyager Media Awards.

The co-judges said very little separated the top entries. Chapman's story on the misleading labelling of a New Zealand fashion house showed how a tenacious reporter could turn an everyday tip into a great story. Jones' hard-edged investigation into the frailties and flaws of the rest-home industry was exhaustive and compelling with wide impact.

Jones also won best Best individual investigation. The Best team investigation category, sponsored by NZ On Air, was won by Stuff’s inquiry into the housing of convicted pedophiles in motels.

In the magazine categories, NZ Herald's Viva magazine won Best newspaper-inserted magazine, HOME New Zealand won Best magazine design and Farmers Weekly won Best trade/specialist publication, free magazine or website.

Community Journalist of the Year was won by Stuff's Torika Tokalau, Western Leader, while Community Newspaper of the Year, sponsored by ASB, was won by The Beacon, Whakatane.
National Business Review's Calida Stuart-Menteath won Business Journalist of the Year, sponsored by BusinessNZ; Stuff' s Dana Johannsen won Sports Journalist of the Year for the second consecutive year; Newshub's Tova O'Brien won Political Journalist of the Year; and Stuff's Hamish McNeilly, The Press, won Regional Journalist of the Year.

For the third consecutive year The Spinoff's Toby Morris won Best artwork/graphics, sponsored by Whitecliffe College of Arts and Design, and Opinion Writer of the Year was won by NZ Herald's Simon Wilson.

In the junior categories, RNZ's Mackenzie Smith won Best reporter - junior, sponsored by the Asia New Zealand Foundation Te Whitau Tuhono, and as a prize will attend the N3Con media conference in Hong Kong later this month.

Student Journalist of the Year, sponsored by AUT, was won by Luke Kirkness, NZ Herald, who received $1000.

Best photography junior was won by George Heard, The Press and Best videography - junior was won by Rosa Woods, The Dominion Post. Both categories were sponsored by Canon.

More than 600 guests gathered at Cordis, Auckland for the awards dinner to celebrate the work of print and broadcast journalists, photographers, videographers, opinion and feature writers, reviewers, artists and cartoonists.

Staged by the Newspaper Publishers' Association with Voyager Internet as premier sponsor, the awards attract nearly 2000 entries and have been running for 46 years. Last night the NPA awarded an Outstanding Achievement Award to the University of Canterbury in recognition of 50 years of running a postgraduate journalism programme.