Canon awards nib health journalism scholarship

Thursday, May 4

A second senior nib health journalism scholarship, worth $6000, will be awarded to a journalist at the Canon Media Awards this month.

The judges were so impressed by the calibre of the senior applicants that they asked if a second award could be made, and nib has generously agreed.

nib New Zealand’s Chief Executive Officer Rob Hennin said it was great to again be a supporter of this year’s Canon Media Awards and provide new research and writing opportunities for journalists to explore health issues in New Zealand.

“The calibre and quality of this year’s applicants is extraordinary so it’s pleasing we are able to offer a second senior scholarship in the light of the very high standard of applicants,” Mr Hennin said.

nib New Zealand is now providing a $4000 junior health scholarship and two $6000 senior health scholarships.

The finalists are:

nib Health Journalism Scholarship - Junior

Janie Cameron, Pharmacy Today

Brad Flahive, The Dominion Post

Monique Steele, Christchurch Mail

Fiona Thomas, New Zealand Doctor

Rachel Thomas, Stuff

nib Health Journalism Scholarship - Senior

Dylan Cleaver, NZ Herald

Kirsty Johnston, NZ Herald

Aaron Leaman, Stuff and Waikato Times

Ruby McGill, Diabetes magazine

Virginia McMillan, New Zealand Doctor

Annemarie Quill, Bay of Plenty Times

The three winners will be announced at the gala dinner on Friday, May 19 at the Langham, Auckland.

Tickets to the dinner can be ordered online Seating plans and numbers will need to be finalised by Friday May 12 so please buy your tickets before then.


For further information:


Or contact: Jane Phare, NPA Awards Director, phone 021 500 995 or Rick Neville, NPA Editorial Director 021 279 6447

#cmanz2017 @CanonNZ #LanghamAuckland