2013 Winners



Senior Press Photographer of the Year: Stephen Parker - Daily Post
Junior Press Photographer of the Year: Emma Allen - Marlborough Express
Best News Picture: Kent Blechynden - The Dominion Post
Best Sports Picture: Iain McGregor - The Press
Best Photo Essay or Slideshow: Richard Robinson - NZ Herald
Best Feature Photo: Natasha Martin - The Timaru Herald
Best Portrait: Robert Kitchin - Manawatu Standard


Best Digital Breaking News Coverage: West Auckland Tornado - NZ Herald
Best Innovation in Multimedia Storytelling: Zone Life - The Press
Best Innovation in New Technologies: Windows 8 App - NZ Herald
Best Digital Community Interaction: Zone Life - The Press
Best Online News Site: nzherald.co.nz
Best Website: stuff.co.nz
Best Video: Mike Scott - Waikato Times


Best Newsstand Magazine: NZ Geographic
Best Trade or Professional Magazine: Young Country
Best Magazine Design: Home
Magazine Feature Writer of the Year: Mike White
Magazine Feature Writer Business & Science: Rebecca Macfie - NZ Listener
Magazine Feature Writer Politics: Mike White
Magazine Feature Writer Arts and Entertainment: Mike White
Magazine Feature Writer Social Issues: Aaron Smale - Mana
Magazine Feature Writer Sport: Duncan Greive
Magazine Feature Writer Lifestyle: Donna Chisholm


Canon Newspaper of the Year: NZ Herald
Newspaper of the Year (up to 30,000 circulation): Bay of Plenty Times
Newspaper of the Year (over 30,000 circulation): NZ Herald
Weekly Newspaper of the Year: The Dominion Post
Community Newspaper of the Year: Kapi-Mana News
Best Newspaper Design: NZ Herald
Best Newspaper Inserted Magazine: The Business - NZ Herald
Senior Reporter of the Year: David Fisher - NZ Herald
Junior Reporter of the Year: Sam Boyer
Reporter Science & Environment: Jamie Morton - NZ Herald
Reporter Sport: Simon Plumb - Sunday Star Times
Reporter Politics: Phil Kitchin - The Dominion Post
Reporter Human Relations: Jared Savage - NZ Herald
Reporter Business: Rob Stock - Sunday Star Times
Reporter Arts & Entertainment: Seamus Boyer - The Dominion Post
Reporter Lifestyle: Bronwyn Torrie - The Dominion Post
Senior Newspaper Feature Writer of the Year: Adam Dudding - Sunday Star Times
Junior Newspaper Feature Writer of the Year: Aimie Cronin - Waikato Times
Newspaper Feature Writer Science & Environment: Russell Blackstock - Herald on Sunday
Newspaper Feature Writer Sport: Ben Stanley - Sunday Star Times
Newspaper Feature Writer Politics: Tracy Watkins - The Dominion Post
Newspaper Feature Writer Human Relations: Tony Wall - Sunday Star Times
Newspaper Feature Writer Business: Geoff Cumming - Weekend Herald
Newspaper Feature Writer Arts & Entertainment: Catherine Woulfe - Sunday Star Times
Newspaper Feature Writer Lifestyle: Aimie Cronin - Waikato Times


Best Investigation: Phil Kitchin
Student Journalist of the Year: Jenna Lynch - Waikato Times/Wintec
Best Artwork: Anna Crichton - NZ Herald
Cartoonist of the Year: Peter Bromhead
Best Columnist: John Armstrong
Editorial Writer of the Year: Virgina Larson
Best Headline: Jonathan Milne
Reviewer of the Year: Diana Witchel
Wolfson Fellowship to Cambridge: Mike White - North & South